Member List
Latest News
News, Articles and Emails

Message from the Chair


Selected Links

Contact the IAB

International Advisory Board for Academic Freedom

Mission Statement

The International Advisory Board for Academic Freedom will undertake actions and steps to guarantee the academic freedom of worldwide higher education institutions. The IAB refrains from politics and addresses only matters of academic freedom and additional academic principles.

Academic boycotts represent selective political posturing which seems to reflect anti democratic and at times overt anti-national sentiments, both having no place in the academic community.

As required from any academic institution, Universities should not be subject to government interference. The university system must be based upon the premise of academic freedom, research and critical thinking, in which staff and students enjoy a platform that not only enables, but systematically encourages freedom of thought and expression.

These values have a place in Universities. Boycotts do not.

IAB Executive Committee

Chair: Prof. Yosi Yeshurun, Pro Rector, Bar-Ilan University

Prof. Eitan Gilboa, Bar-Ilan University

Prof. Menachem Kellner, The University of Haifa

Dr. Jonathan Rynhold, Bar-Ilan University

Prof. Wendy Sandler, The University of Haifa

Prof. Joshua Schwartz, Academic Coordinator, Bar-Ilan University

Prof. Gerald Steinberg, Bar-Ilan University

Executive Director

Ofir Frankel

Corresponding Academic Secretaries

Dr. Ed Beck, President, SPME

Mr. Ronnie Fraser, Chair, AFI